Huckabee | Architecture | Engineering | Management

Nominees Announced for 2018 Superintendent of the Year Award

posted on July 13 - 08:41 AM
By Joe -

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984. Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are the following:

Daniel Treviño Jr., Mercedes ISD, Region 1
Max Thompson, Banquete ISD, Region 2
Jeanette Winn, Karnes City ISD, Region 3
Mark Henry, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Region 4
Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD, Region 5
Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD, Region 6
Susan Morton, Winnsboro ISD, Region 7
Michael Lamb, Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8
David Vroonland, Mesquite ISD, Region 10
Robin Ryan, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, Region 11
George Kazanas, Midway ISD—McLennan County, Region 12
William Chapman, Jarrell ISD, Region 13
Tim Seymore, Breckenridge ISD, Region 14
Ross Aschenbeck, Sonora ISD, Region 15
Bryan Davis, Dimmitt ISD, Region 16
Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD, Region 17
Denise Shetter, Kermit ISD, Region 18
Juan Martinez, Clint ISD, Region 19
Brian Woods, Northside ISD—Bexar County, Region 20

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.
The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 24–25 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 28 at the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Austin.